CT::SWaM Community

People, introductions, hello

Hello everyone,

Just wanted to start a thread where we could introduce ourselves. My name is Kyle Combs I am an artist and composer. I have been interested in spatial audio for many years, but only began working with it last year after attending the EMPAC spatial audio seminar. I am very excited for our upcoming CT::SWaM Exchange events and this forum will also be a great place for supplimentary info and ongoing discussion. Thanks to Daniel and Lee, looking forward to the next event.

K

2 Likes

Hey everyone, happy to be on here!

My name is Lee Gilboa, I am a composer, sound artist and audio engineer. My work uses speech and language as materials and considers audio spatialization as a tool for the embodiment of sonic figures and identities. Currently I am exploring vertical distribution of sound, micro vs macro spatialization and the affects that spatial movements in such environments have on our listening.
I have been lucky enough to workshop and hear some of my ideas in Virginia Tech’s different studios (The Cube, Perform Studio and DISIS) and this summer I will be researching these and new ideas at IRCAM in Paris.

Very excited to see a platform like this that is dedicated for communal thinking and discussion of different topics around spatial and multichannel sound.

2 Likes

Daniel Neumann, sound artist, organizer, sound engineer. I started CT::SWaM as part of an artist residency at Eyebeam in Chelsea in 2012. Sound and its relationship/interaction with space is my key interest across all said activities.

2 Likes

nice to meet you @Kyle and @leegilboa, and thanks @DaN for creating this platform for discussion, listening, and performance.